It’s only a Wet Set but I like it…

As mentioned earlier, I had a go at a wet set last weekend and I need to update you!

This was one of my targets for the new year – to find some new things to do with my hair. After a quick search of the blogosphere I found some great advice from Tasha at http://bygumbygolly.com and from http://www.retrochick.co.uk/category/hair-beauty/.

I had nipped into Boots and Superdrug whilst in town and grabbed the equipment and products these ladies recommended.

image

I bought perm rods and and sponge rollers from Boots, along with a new Kent hairbrush (time to treat myself now I have a newsworthy barnet to work with!) and some of their Curl Creme – this has some great reviews all over the net and it was super cheap! I also got a can of Tressemme Freeze Hold hair spray.

I wanted some StaySet setting lotion but Superdrug were all out, so I bought their own brand setting lotion instead.

I started by washing my hair and letting it dry a little before beginning with the rollers.

image

I found it quite hard to roll and make the rolls ‘snug’. Not sure what I’m doing wrong!

image

I divided each section, rubbed some setting lotion through it and then rolled it. I did Tasha’s trick of rotating the horizontal bar of each roller to avoid dents at the top of my curls.

image

I rolled each section, put a wide, elastic hairband over it and settled down for the night. Now I have heard some people find it really hard to sleep in rollers. I can’t say it was the best night’s sleep I’ve ever had, I was aware of the rollers at several points in the night. By the time I woke up, the headband had disappeared and so had the roller at the front! I don’t know if it just came undone or I tore it out at some point! These are genuine just-woke-up photo – the things I do for you!

image

I removed the rollers with huge excitement – to reveal super curly hair!

image

I then brushed just the top part of my hair, until I met the resistance of the curls, to get that flat top, leading to curls 1940s look. This was another Tasha tip! I managed to make that bit of hair that was sans roller come the dawn, into a nice smooth wave across my forehead and secured it with some Tresemme hairspray. I smoothed some Curl Creme on the curls and separated them little with my fingers. A couple of Kirby grips behind one ear kept them where I wanted them. The Curl Creme was fab, giving them shape and a glossy finish without any crunch or stickiness. Definite winner there!

image

Overall, I was quite happy with the look. There were a few curls that were too curly, I need to decide on a tightness when I’m rolling. I also think I needed to roll with the hair on an angle? I’m not sure. I’m going to have a look at some video tutorials and see if that makes it clearer. I kept the curls for a few days and it was fun to have a different look.

imageimage

It is with a curly ‘do I say:

It’s only vintage but I like it!

Leave a Reply

