It’s only Lindy Bop but I like it…

I knew I was getting some Lindy Bop dresses for Christmas but I left it entirely up to Dr P which ones he chose. It was with some trepidation that I let that happen, but in many ways, the fact that he chose them made them more special. Also, when you see these bad boys, you will see what great choices he made…

On Christmas day there were 3 flat squishy packages waiting for me and I’m going to share them with you over a couple of posts. I decided to use their arrival as the inspiration for some weight loss, which was successful not least due to a delightful chest infection and cold that was presented to me for the duration of the last week of term! I felt so rotten I ate hardly anything and that shifted the last couple of pounds to help me fit nicely into a size 14. I’m very happy.

The first dress I opened was the Ophelia in red (http://www.lindybop.co.uk/search/ophelia):

I decided to wear it on Christmas day. I was busy cooking Christmas lunch and opening a mountain of presents – my Mum loves Christmas and is so generous! – so there are not any decent photos from the day. Dr P took these for me when we got home.

DSC_0013

As you can see it’s a great fit around my torso and I just love the ruched detail at the bust. I was worried it might be too low cut but it’s not at all. It’s a bit crumpled here as it had been packed after I ironed it, but it did iron up beautifully when I first unpacked it.

DSC_0018DSC_0017

I accessorised it with a jammy dodger biscuit necklace from The Jewellery Junkee (https://www.facebook.com/TheJewelleryJunkee?fref=ts) that Mum put in my stocking, these Irregular Choice (http://www.irregularchoice.com/shop/) low heeled shoes and of course my beloved Retro Peepers  (http://www.retropeepers.com/#!peggy/ciaa) Peggy specs.

DSC_0020IC low heel

The dress is lovely quality and as I said I loved the detailing on the bodice. The fit around my waist was perfect it worked well without a petticoat – I’ll let you know how it works with one! It has one zip to the rear which is good quality – I hate a sticky zip!

All in all, I think this worked as a fantastic Christmas dress and is brilliant for parties or a more casual Christmas Day dress.

(Oh, and by the way – Happy New Year!)

It is with a playful swish I say:

It’s only vintage but I like it!

Leave a Reply

