It’s only crockery but I like it…

I’m a bit of a sucker when it comes to nice vintage crockery. My Mum will only drink out of a teacup and saucer – no mugs for her. Whilst my demands are less difficult to meet, I do love the colours and stylings of vintage crockery. I can often be found stroking floral and bird printed porcelain at car boot sales – no really!

One of my favourites is this classic crockery from Wood’s Ware. You may recognise it from ‘Land Girls’, ‘Call the Midwife’ and numerous other costume dramas and films.

Beryl

I’ve always had a bit of a crush on this stocky, dependable, turquoise hued lady, and imagine my delight on turning over a bowl (whilst staying in a peeling static caravan somewhere near Bridport) to find her name was:

Beryl2

Perfect name for a utilitarian British Icon, I think you’ll agree? It was produced in the 1940s and was a cheap, hard wearing range that you’ll still find in hospital canteens, schools and village halls.

beryl_teapot

I still regret not buying this teapot in a charity shop many years ago when I was a student. I’ve always had an old head on young shoulders and desired Beryl’s solid curves even then, when my address changed every 12 months or so and classy pottery was not high on my list of priorities. She’s definitely the one that got away and next time we meet I’m taking her home!

As you know, I’m newly moved in with my man Dr P and his taste in homeware, well it leaves something to be desired. When he moved to Southampton he chose the cheapest crockery set from Argos and ended up with this square black monstrosity.

Argos Horror

I looked around for some new crockery for us – I love cooking for him and I wanted some delicious, made-to-last china for us to enjoy together.
I toyed with many options but finally settled on one – mostly because it reminded me of Beryl. Of course in an ideal world I would scour junk shops, car boot sales and eBay until I had a complete set of chip-free Beryl in my cupboard, but real life encroaches and, like most girls, I am impatient in the pursuit of something I desire.

This set caught my eye when trawling Amazon one day.

GR Maze

This ‘Maze’ range by Gordon Ramsay for Royal Doulton seemed to combine affordability, style and quality whilst still having Beryl’s charm. I think it comes in white and light blue, but I, of course, went for the soothing teal colour.

GR3

GR1

GR2

For the photos I’ve teamed it up with my Cath Kidston Toadstool Salt and Pepper pots and some upcycled Grolsch glasses I bought Dr P as a gift.

I’m very happy with it. I ordered from a company called Panters on Amazon and only paid £48 for a set of 12 pieces as opposed to £60 on the Royal Doulton website. When they arrived one dish was badly chipped, but following an email to Panters they shipped out another dish pronto and I had my complete set lovingly washed and gleaming in the cupboard in no time.

It’s the first major purchase of many to bring my dining and cooking up to vintage-inspired par but I think it’s a very promising start! Now I just need to cook something delicious to eat off it!

It is with a watering mouth I say:

It’s only vintage but I like it…

Leave a Reply

